A lady walked 500 miles… in place.

I am ADHD

“Oh! I’m running to your arms. I’m running to your arms…”

I find myself lost in the words of Forever Reign. I’m having a great worship experience, and then the lady in front of me starts moving. She steps slightly back in forth like she is walking in place.

I’ve talked about it before, but as you all may know I’m super ADHD.

So, what do I do? I start counting her steps. One. Two. Three. Four….

When she gets up to 15 I’m so distracted that I start singing, “And I would walk 500 miles…” at the tempo of her marching that’s taking place.

Out of the corner of my eye, I notice that a boy is on his phone. I stand on the tips of my toes to get higher to see if I can see what he is playing. After a few attempts, I notice I’m disrupting the people next to me because I’m leaning over. I do a casual head nod and look back at the stage.

When did we switch songs?

How old are the guitarists shoes?

Did he get a haircut?

Woah, there’s a new family in the back. I wonder if they are nice. They seem nice.

I should probably face forward again.

What’s in my pocket. Lint? Washed receipt? Play it cool Isaiah; just leave it in your pocket and throw it away after church.

Man, I just realized I’m very thirsty. I look around for the nearest water fountain. BINGO!

Wait, everyone is bowing their head. Oh no, we are praying.

Just like that, the worship session is over.

Maybe you’re like me and find yourself distracted. Or, maybe you just find it hard to worship in general. Here are two ways to help you worship through singing.

How to worship through singing

1) Focus Your Mind’s Attention

Why do we worship?

We worship to praise, honor, glorify, and please God! After all, God’ grace provided us with a way into Heaven through His Son, Jesus. This has allowed us to escape the bondage of sin.

So, if we humble ourselves, as it says in James 4:6 we are shown favor because “God opposes the proud but gives favor to the humble.”

By humbling ourselves we praise, honor, glorify, and please God at the same time. So how can we do this better? We can do this by focusing our mind’s attention.

Have you ever actually listened to all the words to a worship song? Have you thought about the meaning?

These are ways to focus your mind’s attention. Oftentimes the songs we are singing are packed full of scripture straight out of the Bible or represent the very nature or good qualities of God Himself.

By focusing on the words and the meaning, we can begin to dive into a genuine and intimate worship session.

2) Focus Your Heart’s Affection

Colossians 3:1 says, “Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God.”

Because of what Christ has done for us, we should yearn to love and appreciate God. Our hearts should cry out to glorify Him for everything He has done.

When we sing to God, it is a way to show our gratitude for it all. So, one way to worship through singing would be to remember this. Remember the cross and what it signifies.

Tying it All Together

When Kristian and I first got married I was on fire for her (I still am, of course, but I’m attempting to throw in an anecdote that sets up an analogy, so hang in there).

I paid attention to all the details. I listened to everything she had to say from what she liked and disliked to her favorite books. I loved the way she smelled. I loved everything about her.

I showed her the evidence of that love through things like praising her and buying her flowers. Or, by listening to her or opening her car door. I appreciated everything about her and couldn’t get enough of her.

In the same way, we are the bride of Christ (Ephesians 5:25–27). We should seek out to know God in every way possible.

What does He like and dislike?

What is His character?

How can I please Him?

By doing this, we can begin to desire and yearn to worship Him through focusing our minds attention and our hearts affection.

 

Turn my heart toward your statutes
and not toward selfish gain.
Turn my eyes away from worthless things;
preserve my life according to your word.

-Psalm 119:36-37

Leave a Reply

