Why I don’t care if you cut me off… sometimes.

aggressive-driver-or-road-rage-fanatic.jpg

Optimism vs. Pessimism

Getting out of my apartment is dangerous. There is construction, cars are speeding by, and not too many people have the courtesy of slowing down to let you out. Usually I just have to pull out and cut someone off. This morning was no different. I pulled out and cut someone off. They, of course, were livid and decided to share their favorite finger with me!

I continued down the road and took a right. I was having a nice drive until someone pulled out of an apartment complex and cut me off! I was instantly filled with rage. No one was in front of me or behind me. Why did this person have to ruin my day? Couldn’t they have just waited until I was passed them?

I’m sure you see the irony here. No more than three minutes ago I had just cut someone off and here I was livid that someone could possibly have the audacity to do the same exact thing. I can think of a lot of things that I look at the same way. I’m severely ADHD and if someone is talking I could unexpectedly interrupt with a random thought. But, if someone were to interrupt me in the same fashion I would probably be quick to say they were rude.

This isn’t everyday. Someday’s I get cut off and I’m fine. Sometime’s I get interrupted and I don’t care. Same situation but a different response. Why?

I Smother Things in Optimism

I think it is all a mindset. Proverbs 17:22 says, “A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.” Do you know when my best days are? When I decide early on that I am going to have a great day.

Admittedly this morning I woke up a little sore, tired, and pessimistic. So, when that person cut me off, I responded in anger. But, I can say there have been days I have woken up and decided that this would be a great day and nothing really gets to me.

The other day, for example, my battery died, I got a screw in my tire, my check engine light came on, and copper seeped into my brake fluids. There are plenty of reasons right here to be a sour patch. But, knowing where my hope and joy come from kept me optimistic as ever.

I get compliments all the time on my optimism, energy, and enthusiasm. This isn’t to brag at all but rather to let the cat out of the bag. I have just as many reasons as you and anyone else I know to be a downer. Bad things happen to me all the time. Unfortunate events (self inflicted or spontaneous) plague my life. I find myself praying to God asking Him to provide for things that I can’t handle or understand often.

So that being said, here are my three tips for smothering any and everything in optimism.

  1. Remembering God will provide
  2. You are blessed
  3. Christ died for him/her/them

No matter the obstacle or fear; God WILL provide. (I’ve talked about this before HERE)  I may be down on my luck; I am blessed. Someone may push you to a new level of anger or disappointment; Christ died for them.

 

 

Photo Credit

 

Leave a Reply

