Why I still sleep with a night light…

E.T. the Extraterrestrial

e.t.

When I was really young I use to share a room and a bunk bed with my brother. One night I had just closed my eyes and fallen asleep when my brother started screaming.

Sean: “E.T. is moving by the door!”(We had a stuffed E.T. toy laying on the floor by our door.)

Me: (given the fact that I had plenty of reasons to doubt the supernatural) “Be quiet, you’re annoying me.”

Sean: “He’s moving, I swear.”

Dad enters the room: “What’s going on? Y’all need to go to sleep. It’s getting late.”

I was a good big brother at this moment and went on to explain to my dad that I was trying to get some shut eye but the little one below me was yelling and being a big ol’ baby because he thought a stuffed alien was moving. My dad picks up the little alien and moves him around to show us that it’s just a toy. Then, my dad of course tells us to be quiet and go to sleep.

Five or ten minutes passed and once again my brother began screaming. Pretty much the same dialogue happened. My brother was really scared, I was really annoyed, and my dad acted like he was confused as to why there was so much commotion. It got quiet again but this time I didn’t roll over and fall back asleep. I sat up and I watched E.T.

A few more moments passed and sure enough… it moved.

Sean and I: “AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. Dad help, E.T. is moving!!!!”

We were scared out of our minds. Up until this point in my life I didn’t believe in ghosts or the supernatural. I was immediately overwhelmed and overcome by fear.

My dad bursts in the door and says, “Guys, it’s alright… I’ve been messing with you.” He goes on to explain how he had fishing line tied to the doll and that he was moving him from outside our door to scare us. Let’s skip past how traumatized I was from this and how I now sleep with a night light at the age of 24 and get to a practical lesson.

  • I doubted because I wasn’t looking.
  • I refused to believe my brother.

I want to talk about doubt. I think many churches and Christians face the same problem. They dive into some recommended apologetics. They cry out in prayer. They come to church and sing worship songs, but still they doubt. I had doubt too. I doubted that an inanimate object could move until I opened my eyes and waited for it to move.

I think we are looking in the wrong place. We fail to see God moving in front of us because we are trying to drift off into sleep. In a society of leisure and comfort we have closed our eyes. I think the story of the moving doll teaches us two things.

Choose to Look Around You

Romans 1:19-20 says, “For what can be known about God is plain to them, because God has shown it to them. For his invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made. So they are without excuse.”

Miracles exist all around us. The idea that we are walking around on a floating and rotating rock that circles around a huge fiery ball of gas is nothing short of miraculous. The fact that people are healed inexplicably in hospitals when they should have died. When you start talking about how I have an amazing wife (Yes, this is a true miracle.) Miracles are all around us.

Have you ever wondered why mosquito bites itch? Before a mosquito bites you they inject you with some of their saliva that helps them to get blood quicker. The saliva itself has an assortment of anticoagulants that keep your blood thin and flowing really nice. After the mosquito flies off it leaves a little of the saliva and your body then releases antibodies which further go to release histamine which is a nitrogen compound that causes an inflammatory response. Without the saliva from the mosquito your blood would clog up inhibiting the mosquito from ever getting any of your blood in the first place.

Something as simple as this is one out of a billion examples of how there are all these little miracles taking place all around us without even being aware.

Believe in the Existence of God

There are Christians crying out every day, “Jesus lives. God heals. The Spirit leads.” But, much like me in the E.T. story, nonbelievers turn their back and refuse to believe.

Hebrew 11:1-3 says, “Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. For by it the people of old received their commendation. By faith we understand that the universe was created by the word of God, so that what is seen was not made out of things that are visible.”

God doesn’t always reveal Himself in blatant movement like the E.T. doll from my past. Rather, He being that which can’t be seen, reveals Himself in the things that can be seen. We are because He was and always will be. We can because He already did.

I’m not saying believing is easy. I know there are people that will have doubts from time to time. But, I think that you have to understand everything about Christianity isn’t always obvious. That’s why we have faith. That’s why we cling to a hope that’s beyond rational explanation.

 

Picture Credit: http://www.people.com/article/original-rick-baker-et-designs-revealed

 

Leave a Reply

