Why Christians got stoned…

God uses the unusable

Saul aided in the murdering of Christians. Acts 22:10 says, “And I was in complete agreement when your witness Stephen was killed. I stood by and kept the coats they took off when they stoned him.” From the outside Saul looked unredeemable, unreachable, and hardened beyond the reach of salvation.

In Acts chapter 9 we see Saul’s fiery rage against Christians burning stronger and fiercer than ever. Saul was headed to Damascus with a letter that gave him authority to arrest any and everyone, men or women, which belonged to Christ. But, something miraculous happened: Christ intervened. God unexpectedly and unexplainably met Saul where he was, offered him mercy, and began to use him in incredible ways. Saul later became Paul after his conversion to Christianity. Paul went on to write almost half of the New Testament and established a church presence that had never been seen before.

I don’t know about you, but I have never held a coat for a friend while they stoned someone. I have never “breathed threats and murder against the disciples of the Lord,” as it said Saul did in Acts chapter 9. Yet, I used to think that it was too late for me to do something really great for God. I thought maybe I should straighten up a bit and when a better time came I could serve God.

This couldn’t be further from the truth. The story of Saul’s transformation to Paul teaches us three things:

  • It’s not too late to be used by God
  • There will never be a better time to be with God
  • We are good enough for God NOW

It’s not too late

Saul was pretty deep into sin. He was threatening Christians and allowing Christians to be murdered. God didn’t abandon him and leave him to figure out things on his own. God intervened and said, “it’s time for you to do something for Me.” The same goes for you. No matter what you have done, said, or thought it is not too late. God can and will still use you. All you have to do is ask.

Now is the time

In college I was really lost. I stopped going to church because I was trying so hard to save myself and I thought that I needed to act better and sin less before I could go to church. (You can read more about my testimony HERE) Don’t try to wait and fix yourself before diving into a relationship with God because that will never happen. There is never a better time than right now to dive into a relationship with God.

You are good enough

I used to find myself thinking I am beyond the reach of God’s grace and mercy. I’m sure you have felt this way right? You may have sinned or really messed up and you begin to think, “I just don’t see how God could forgive me this time.” I use to think that I had to fix these mess ups and sinning problems before I could enter a relationship with Him. But, that’s the beauty, mercy means we do not get the punishment we deserve. NO ONE is beyond the reach of God’s grace and mercy.

When I was younger I remember a time where I was on the playground and the whistle blew for everyone to come back inside for class to start. I started running and I fell straight to the ground. One of my shoe laces was untied! How embarrassing. I was probably in first grade at this time and I had skinned my knee so naturally I started crying. When I looked up there was no one around and I realized that I better get up, tie my shoe, and get back to class.

As a Christian you’re going to forget to tie your shoe laces and you’re going to fall and skin your knee. Maybe you fall back to an old habit or maybe you fall back to an old sin.

Regardless, you have one job. Get up, tie your shoe laces, and run back to God.

One comment

  1. David Ruzicka · April 21, 2016

    Good word!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

