Fearless

Fearless

Finding peace in a fearful world

My brother use to shake out his blanket every night before he went to sleep. I had a matching one. It was a soft blanket with a football pattern that our grandma had given us for a Christmas a long time ago. We use to share bunk beds and with every passing night you could be sure that my brother’s routine of violently shaking his blanket out would happen before he got some shut eye. He did this every single night because one night as he went to lay down for the night he felt the eight legs of an unwanted intruder. There was a spider in his blanket! He was scared to death that there would be another so he took preemptive measures every night to prevent it from happening again.

I have a similar story with my shoes. I slid on my shoes one lovely day only to feel something a little odd moving around. I took off my shoe and shook it and sure enough a spider was hanging out in my shoe. I guess you could say our family is unlucky when it comes to spiders.

It’s been many years since I can say that I have shaken out my shoe and probably many years since my brother has checked for spiders in his blanket. But, that doesn’t mean there aren’t a million and one things for us to worry or be scared about.

I’m fearful of what ISIS is doing, who our next president will be, how long it will take me to pay off my student loans, me or my wife getting a life-threatening disease,  and many other things. It’s easy to shake off spishophobia, (my made up word for fearing that there are spiders hanging out in your shoes) but how do we look at the world and what’s in it and cease to fear? How do we find peace in a fearful world?

Joshua 1:9 says: “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous! Do not tremble or be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

I will not tremble. I will not fear. I have to stop and say that sometimes. I oftentimes forget the reality of the world we are living in. I take isolated events and peg them as such. What I mean is, I see a killing or an act of terrorism by ISIS and I peg it as that. The reality is that Satan has taken a foothold in these people’s lives and it is him who is to blame or fear.

1 John 4:4 says: “But you belong to God, my dear children. You have already won a victory over those people, because the Spirit who lives in you is greater than the spirit who lives in the world.”

The Spirit who lives in us is of course the Holy Spirit while the spirit who lives in the world is Satan. When I see this, I then realize that when I begin to become fearful I am not fearing an ISIS terrorist I am fearing Satan. When I say I fear who our next president will be I am really lacking trust for He who is greater than the world.

I will not tremble. I will not fear.

When darkness shakes me, I won’t be dismayed.

The things that I don’t know could break me, but they won’t.

My foundation is rooted in Christ Jesus so nothing will break me.

God, I can trust you’ll never change and fear will never have a sting again.

Are you scared, depressed, fearful, anxious, worried, confused, lost, broken or afraid?  Hold on to these truths.

  1. The Lord God is with you wherever you go.
  2. God is greater than anyone or anything in the world.
  3. God’s promises will NEVER change

If you can do these things then you too can find peace in a fearful world.

 

Leave a Reply

